MSN: The End of an Era?

 

It struck me recently that my MSN contact list has finally dwindled down to about ten people who are regularly online. I mostly use the program at home at night or during the day when I’m at work as a way of either contacting folk and having genuinely interesting chats or as a method of procrastinating, usually the latter, but now it almost seems as if the application is coming to the end of its useful life.

There was a time, probably around four or five years ago, when literally everyone I knew who was of a similar age group used MSN on a daily basis. It was how we got in touch after school, how we sorted when we were going out and not so frequently how we had fights. MSN was where I first asked my girlfriend out (Cowardly, I know). Those were the days of ten or twelve people to one conversation window, a jumble of half finished jokes, misplaced smilies and generally uninterpretable waffle. They were fun nevertheless.

I guess now everyone is at work, and for a lot of people this means sitting in front of a computer all day so perhaps an evening spent online doing exactly the same isn’t exactly an enticing prospect. Still it feels like the end of something, perhaps the realization that those carefree sixth form days have come to an end and the that the real world is beckoning us towards a lifestyle which forces us to be more careful with how we choose to spend those precious free moments.

3 Responses to “MSN: The End of an Era?”

  1. Am I not good enough then?

  2. Catherine Says:

    ‘genuinely interesting chats’, I suppose I am the exception to that suggestion.
    Hearing that you had MSN in 6th form is a bit of a novelty to me, I had it in year 8, I am so, so much younger than you.

  3. illegibleme Says:

    In that case I’ll put you down to pay for my funeral and run up a huge carbon footprint for you to deal with.

Leave a Reply

